Knowledge & Networks

Canadian Art History, Circa 2012

Introduction

Martha Langford and Johanne Sloan

On October 31, 2012, twenty-seven Canadian researchers came together in Montreal for a study day: Knowledge and Networks: Canadian Art History, circa 2012. This event had been organized by the Gail and Stephen A. Jarislowsky Institute for Studies in Canadian Art at Concordia University. The participants, a healthy mix of established and emergent scholars, came from the University of British Columbia, University of Manitoba, York University, University of Toronto, Carleton University, Université du Québec à Montréal, Concordia University, McGill University, University of New Brunswick, and NSCAD University. There were also representatives of national visual arts organizations, such as the Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art (Winnipeg) and Artexte (Montreal). The hosting of the event had been encouraged by the Faculty of Fine Arts, Concordia University, and supported by a Connections Grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Martha Langford, Research Chair and Director of the Jarislowsky Institute, and Johanne Sloan, Graduate Program Director of the Department of Art History and Deputy-Director of the Institute, planned the event for the Institute and moderated the four sessions.

The Gail and Stephen A. Jarislowsky Institute for Studies in Canadian Art called this meeting because of its members’ recognition that the field of art history was at a crossroads. Its institutions and contributors were negotiating the value of older forms of knowledge production and dissemination, even as new kinds of digital, virtual, and networked modes were coming into play. Invitations to the meeting went out in June 2012: from that point forward, the discussion was lively. No one questioned the point or timeliness of the meeting. In a context of considerable uncertainty and many bright ideas, it seemed obvious that members of the field wanted and needed to talk. Each of the invited participants came back with developments they wanted to share and points they wanted to raise. These topics concerned them as individual contributors to the field and in their capacities as leaders. For this was a stellar group of recognized shareholders in the field of Canadian art history, not only in the sense of producing and possessing knowledge, but also because they had shouldered the responsibilities of circulating and sharing that knowledge, within their organizations and institutions, and outside them, as connectors between cultural communities [LINK]. The participants were prepared to examine the current situation of Canadian art history, and to contribute to the debate according to their personal experience, institutional affiliations, current partnerships, and future plans.

The themes of the study day sprang from the following questions:

  1. How do you situate yourselves vis-à-vis the print culture vs. digital culture debates?
  2. What is your relationship to journal and book publishing at the present time?
  3. What limitations and/or new opportunities are you encountering regarding publications?
  4. How is the archival turn transforming research and its mobilization?
  5. How are new technologies influencing your teaching, whether in the classroom or through distance education?
  6. What is your involvement in the transformation of exhibitions and curatorial initiatives into digital and virtual forms?
  7. How do questions about identity, community, or place play themselves out across these new forms of knowledge-exchange?

These questions were not entirely innocent. They were designed to bring forward information about the present and future plans of both established and nascent organizations. There was much to consider. Emergent institutions and projects included the Art Canada Institute/Institut de l’art du Canada (ACI/IAC); the Canadian Art Commons for History of Art Education & Training (CACHET); and Critically Canadian Historical Art Network (CCHA). More established programs included Artexte, the Canadian Centre for Contemporary Art (CCCA); the Gail and Stephen A. Jarislowsky Institute for Studies in Canadian Art; the Aboriginal Curatorial Collective; the Leonard and Bina Ellen Art Gallery, and the University Art Association of Canada, as well as publications, such as the Journal of Canadian Art History/Annales d’histoire de l’art canadien; RACAR: Revue d’art canadienne/Canadian Art Review; and the contemporary art magazine Fillip. Some questions had been framed to highlight new trends in pedagogy and knowledge mobilization; others confronted challenges to research created by shrinking resources and reminded participants of areas that remain chronically underserved. All participants in the study day understood that the Institute’s goal was never to consolidate the disparate activities of everyone concerned under one umbrella, but to seek points of convergence and complementarity, thus minimizing duplication of effort and resources within a highly competitive research world. Formal partnerships (active or imminent) offered one way forward, but participants were also attentive to opportunities for informal collaboration and collegial support. At the very least, and this seemed no small ambition, people felt that by sharing information and strategies—by forging new communication networks—the field of Canadian Art History might become more internally coherent and more accessible to a larger public. To that end, forms of research and knowledge mobilization under discussion included journals (printed and online), archives, databases, encyclopedia, exhibitions, innovative pedagogy, and public outreach; the digital economy, aboriginal knowledge, and gender studies were imbricated in these discussions. Current thinking across the humanities about “creative commons” and “knowledge mobilization” nourished our preparations, as we set out to conceptualize and collectively design new ways of approaching art historical research.

In her introductory remarks, Martha Langford confirmed that many of the knowledge mobilization questions that the group had already been considering corresponded to lines of inquiry outlined within SSHRC’s designated research stream of Digital Economy, reflecting concerns with the “tools and/or knowledge … the creators of cultural products need in order to participate more fully in the digital economy.” She also noted that this gathering could be seen to be responding, and quickly, to a recent study by Diane M. Zorich, Transitioning to a Digital World: Art History, Its Research Centers, and Digital Scholarship.1 This study had been commissioned by the Samuel H. Kress Foundation and the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Based on interviews and site visits to eight American art history research centres, Zorich’s report characterized digital art history as marginalized within the field. Among her informants, Zorich found mostly exponents of more traditional approaches to research and its mobilization, scholars manifesting considerable uncertainty about how to enter the digital economy. Their degrees of caution were verging on territorial anxiety about developments across the digital humanities. Zorich’s study was illuminating, if alarming from a Canadian perspective, as she observed generational divides and the absence of a collaborative tradition within the discipline. If this were also true in Canada, the chilling effects on advanced methodologies, such as those framing Aboriginal research and interdisciplinary projects could easily be imagined. Zorich found few exceptions to an American academic culture that was burrowing in, rather than reaching out. She noted “an absence of dialogue among the community’s leadership—its professional organizations, funders, thought leaders, and research centers—about what art history will be in the 21st century, and the role digital art history plays in that scenario.”2 She strongly recommended the convening of “thought leaders and coalitions,” noting that such a meeting had never occurred.3

The Zorich report was published in May 2012. By that point, Canadian art historians had already identified the need for dialogue; we were not going to wait for the “thought leaders and coalitions” of American research centres to show us the way. We had already determined to meet. While the concerns and conditions described by Zorich were not unfamiliar to Canadian art historians, the participants in Knowledge and Networks had voted with their feet, indicating that they preferred to live in a culture of partnership and collaboration. As the meeting began, participants were already committed to its success.

The organization of the day is outlined on the agenda. The structure was simple and effective. There were four plenary sessions. The topics were publication, education, research-creation, and a final session on the respective values of solitary research and collaboration. For each of the four topics, two presenters had been invited to make opening remarks. Grouped around the seminar table were designated spokespersons for the activity under discussion, while the rest of the group participated freely. Discussions were recorded, to serve as aide-mémoires for the three Concordia University doctoral students who had agreed to serve as reporters: Pablo Rodriguez, on publishing; Mark Clintberg, on education; Sarah Watson, on research-creation; and all three writing about the last session, its issues and reflections on the day.

Both the timing and location of Knowledge and Networks: Canadian Art History, circa 2012 were strategic. The event was held on the day preceding the University Art Association of Canada conference organized in 2012 by Anne Whitelaw, vice-president of UAAC, a faculty member of Concordia University, and a member of the Jarislowsky Institute. These events were mutually beneficial, and the Jarislowsky Institute hopes to repeat the formula in coming years.

Savoir et réseaux

histoire de l’art canadien vers 2012

Introduction

Martha Langford et Johanne Sloan

Le 31 octobre 2012, 27 chercheurs canadiens étaient réunis à Montréal pour une journée d’étude sur le thème Knowledge and Networks: Canadian Art History, circa 2012 (« Savoir et réseaux : histoire de l’art canadien vers 2012 »). L’événement était organisé par l’Institut de recherche en art canadien Gail et Stephen A. Jarislowsky de l’Université Concordia. Les participants, un mélange équilibré de chercheurs établis et émergents, venaient de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Université du Manitoba, de l’Université York, de l’Université de Toronto, de l’Université Carleton, de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, de l’Université Concordia, de l’Université McGill, de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Université NSCAD. Des représentants d’organismes nationaux consacrés aux arts visuels, comme le Centre de l’art contemporain canadien (Winnipeg) et Artexte (Montréal), étaient également présents. La tenue de l’événement était soutenue par la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia, avec l’appui financier du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada. Martha Langford, titulaire de la chaire de recherche et directrice de l’Institut de recherche en art canadien Gail et Stephen A. Jarislowsky, ainsi que Johanne Sloan, directrice du programme d’études supérieures du Département d’histoire de l’art et directrice adjointe de l’Institut, ont planifié l’activité et animé les quatre séances.

L’Institut de recherche en art canadien Gail et Stephen A. Jarislowsky a convoqué la rencontre parce que, de l’avis de ses membres, l’histoire de l’art se trouvait à la croisée des chemins. Ses institutions et intervenants cherchaient en effet à déterminer la valeur des formes traditionnelles de production et de diffusion des connaissances, alors même que de nouvelles méthodes—numériques, virtuelles et en réseau—étaient en train de s’implanter. Dès le lancement des invitations en juin 2012, le débat s’est animé. Personne n’a remis en question l’objet ou l’opportunité de la rencontre. Dans un contexte de grande incertitude où circulaient de nombreuses idées brillantes, il semblait évident que les personnes engagées dans le domaine ressentaient le besoin d’en parler. Chacun des participants invités s’est présenté avec des nouvelles qu’il souhaitait partager et des points qu’il désirait soulever. Ces sujets les concernaient en tant qu’intervenants individuels et chefs de file du secteur. Les participants constituaient un groupe prestigieux d’intéressés reconnus dans le milieu de l’histoire de l’art canadien, non seulement parce qu’ils produisaient et possédaient des connaissances, mais aussi parce qu’ils avaient endossé la responsabilité de les diffuser et de les partager, tant au sein de leurs organismes et institutions qu’en dehors de ceux-ci, à titre d’agents de liaison entre les communautés culturelles [LINK]. Ils étaient ainsi prêts à étudier la situation actuelle de l’histoire de l’art canadien et à contribuer au débat selon leurs expériences personnelles, leurs affiliations institutionnelles, leurs associations existantes et leurs objectifs futurs.

Les thèmes à l’étude découlaient des questions suivantes :

  1. Où vous situez-vous dans le débat entre la culture de l’imprimé et la culture numérique?
  2. Quels sont actuellement vos rapports à la publication de revues et de livres?
  3. Quelles restrictions ou nouvelles occasions rencontrez-vous en matière de publications?
  4. Comment le tournant archivistique transforme-t-il les recherches et leur mobilisation?
  5. Comment les nouvelles technologies influent-elles sur votre enseignement, en classe ou à distance?
  6. De quelle manière participez-vous à la transformation de projets d’expositions et d’initiatives de conservation en mode numérique et virtuel?
  7. Comment les questions d’identité, de communauté ou de lieu se posent-elles dans les nouvelles formes d’échanges de connaissances?

Ces questions n’étaient pas anodines. Elles avaient pour but d’obtenir des informations sur les plans actuels et futurs d’organismes établis ou embryonnaires. Les institutions et projets émergents comprenaient l’Art Canada Institute/Institut de l’art du Canada (ACI-IAC), le Canadian Art Commons for History of Art Education & Training (CACHET) et le Critically Canadian Historical Art Network (CCHA). Parmi les programmes plus établis figuraient Artexte, le Centre de l’art contemporain canadien (CACC), l’Institut de recherche en art canadien Gail et Stephen A. Jarislowsky, le Collectif des conservateurs autochtones, la Galerie Leonard-et-Bina-Ellen et l’Association d’art des universités du Canada, ainsi que diverses publications : Journal of Canadian Art History/Annales d’histoire de l’art canadien, RACAR : Revue d’art canadienne/Canadian Art Review et le magazine d’art contemporain Fillip. Certaines questions soulignaient de nouvelles tendances en pédagogie et en mobilisation des connaissances; d’autres s’attachaient aux défis que pose à la recherche la diminution des ressources et rappelaient aux participants que certains secteurs souffrent d’un manque d’attention chronique. Tous les participants à la journée d’étude ont compris que l’objectif de l’Institut n’était pas de réunir les activités disparates des uns et des autres sous une même enseigne, mais de chercher des points de convergence et de complémentarité, afin de diminuer le double emploi des efforts et des ressources dans un champ de recherche extrêmement concurrentiel. Les associations officielles (actives ou imminentes) offraient une solution, mais les participants ont aussi considéré les occasions de collaboration informelle et de soutien entre collègues. À tout le moins, et cela était plutôt ambitieux, on sentait qu’en partageant de l’information et des stratégies—en forgeant de nouveaux réseaux de communication—, le champ de l’histoire de l’art canadien pouvait présenter une cohérence interne accrue et devenir plus accessible au grand public. À cette fin, les formes de recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances examinées comprenaient les revues (imprimées ou en ligne), les archives, les bases de données, les encyclopédies, les expositions, la pédagogie innovatrice et la sensibilisation du public. L’économie numérique, les connaissances autochtones et les études des rapports sociaux entre les sexes figuraient dans ces débats. La pensée actuelle en sciences humaines sur les œuvres en usage partagé (« Creative Commons ») et la « mobilisation des connaissances » a alimenté la préparation de l’événement, qui visait à conceptualiser et à élaborer collectivement de nouvelles manières d’aborder la recherche en histoire de l’art.

Dans ses observations liminaires, Martha Langford a confirmé le fait que nombre des questions sur la mobilisation des connaissances déjà prises en compte par le groupe correspondaient aux champs d’investigation définis par le volet de recherche sur l’économie numérique du CRSH. Elles reflétaient ainsi des préoccupations au sujet « des outils ou des connaissances dont les créateurs de produits culturels ont besoin afin de participer pleinement à l’économie numérique ». Elle a aussi fait remarquer que l’assemblée pouvait être perçue comme une réponse des plus rapides à une récente étude de Diane M. Zorich, Transitioning to a Digital World: Art History, Its Research Centers, and Digital Scholarship1, commandée par la Samuel H. Kress Foundation et le Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media de l’Université George Mason.

Fondé sur des entrevues et des visites à huit centres américains de recherche sur l’histoire de l’art, le rapport Zorich en concluait que l’histoire de l’art numérique était marginalisée. Ses informateurs étaient, pour la plupart, des tenants d’approches plus traditionnelles de la recherche et de sa mobilisation, des universitaires qui manifestaient une grande incertitude concernant la manière d’entrer dans l’économie numérique. Leur prudence frôlait presque l’anxiété territoriale causée par la tournure des événements dans les sciences humaines numériques. Le rapport était éclairant, quoique alarmant d’un point de vue canadien, car il notait un fossé entre les générations et l’absence d’une tradition de collaboration à l’intérieur de la discipline. Si cela s’avère aussi au Canada, on peut aisément imaginer l’effet paralysant qui en résulterait sur les méthodologies avancées, comme celles qui encadrent la recherche sur les autochtones et les projets interdisciplinaires. Diane Zorich a trouvé peu d’exceptions dans une culture universitaire américaine qui se refermait sur elle-même plutôt que de s’ouvrir. Elle a remarqué « une absence de dialogue au sein du leadership de la communauté—organismes professionnels, bailleurs de fonds, leaders d’opinion et centres de recherche—sur ce que sera l’histoire de l’art au XXIe siècle, et sur le rôle joué par l’histoire de l’art numérique dans ce scénario2 ». Elle recommandait fortement une réunion de « leaders d’opinion et de coalitions », en notant que cela ne s’était jamais fait3.

Le rapport Zorich a été publié en mai 2012. Les historiens de l’art canadiens avaient alors déjà déterminé le besoin de dialogue et n’allaient pas attendre que les « leaders d’opinion et les coalitions » des centres de recherche américains leur montrent le chemin. La rencontre avait donc déjà été décidée. Bien que les préoccupations et conditions décrites par Zorich n’aient pas été inconnues des historiens de l’art canadiens, les participants à la journée Knowledge and Networks ont montré, par leur présence, qu’ils préféraient vivre dans une culture d’association et de collaboration. Dès le début de la rencontre, ils étaient résolus à en assurer le succès.

L’organisation de l’événement est présentée dans l’ordre du jour [LINK]. Simple et efficace, elle comprenait quatre séances plénières. Les sujets étaient la publication, l’éducation, la recherche-création et une séance finale sur les valeurs respectives de la recherche individuelle et de la collaboration. Pour chacun des quatre sujets, deux personnes étaient invitées à faire des observations liminaires. Des porte-parole pour le sujet traité étaient regroupés autour d’une table, tandis que les autres participants intervenaient librement. Les discussions étaient enregistrées pour servir d’aide-mémoire aux trois doctorants de l’Université Concordia qui avaient accepté de jouer le rôle de rapporteurs : Pablo Rodriguez, pour la publication; Mark Clintberg, pour l’éducation; Sarah Watson, pour la recherche-création; et tous les trois pour la dernière séance, les questions abordées et les réflexions sur la journée.

Le moment ainsi que le lieu de la journée Knowledge and Networks: Canadian Art History, circa 2012 étaient stratégiques. L’événement s’est en effet tenu le jour précédant la conférence de l’Association d’art des universités du Canada, organisée en 2012 par Anne Whitelaw, vice-présidente de l’Association ainsi que membre du corps professoral de l’Université Concordia et de l’Institut Gail et Stephen A. Jarislowsky. Ces activités ont été mutuellement profitables, et l’Institut espère répéter l’expérience au cours des années à venir.